Ivy and Bean 1 (Ivy & Bean) (Paperback)

Ivy and Bean 1 (Ivy & Bean) By Annie Barrows Cover Image
$5.99
On Our Shelves Now
9 on hand, as of Dec 6 5:03pm

Description


A Netflix Original Film Series
A New York Times Bestselling Series
Over 8 Million Copies Sold

The original book in the bestselling series, Ivy and Bean: Book 1 introduces Ivy and Bean, two spunky friends who never meant to like each other.



Meet Ivy & Bean. Bean has lots of friends, loves stomping in puddles and hates being bored. Ivy has just moved in next door. Ivy seems nice, wears dresses and sparkly headbands—which makes Bean think she's too boring to be friends with. But after Ivy comes to Bean's rescue, they become the best of friends and begin a series of silly, sneaky, imaginative, sometimes naughty, and always hilarious adventures.

From beloved children's book author Annie Barrows, the Ivy and Bean collection has been delighting preschool, kindergarten, elementary, and kids of all ages for nearly two decades. Centered upon messages promoting friendship, empathy, and understanding, this a charming and addictive introduction to the Ivy and Bean chapter book series filled with vibrant characters and lots of humor.

HEARTWARMING STORYOF FRIENDSHIP: This charming book follows Ivy and Bean as they get themselves into trouble . . . and then help each other out of it as only true friends can. Young girls will love reading about Ivy and Bean’s many adventures and learning about the magic of friendship in this laugh-out-loud funny book series.

CRITICS & READERS LOVE THE IVY AND BEAN SERIES:
"One of the funniest young chapter book series around."—The Horn Book
"A lively, entertaining read with heart"—Common Sense Media
"Only a stooge couldn’t love Ivy and Bean."—Kirkus Reviews
"I read ALL of the books in this series when I was in elementary school (I am 17 now) and I absolutely LOVED them. This series truly taught me the joy in reading and creativity, as well as real social dynamics you see in everyday life."—Reader
"This is the ONLY chapter book series that my daughter has fallen for and will re-read on her own."—Parent
 
BESTSELLING AUTHOR-ILLUSTRATOR TEAM: Annie Barrows is the author of numerous bestselling books for children and adults, including the Ivy and Bean series which has sold over 8 million copies and garnered multiple starred reviews and Best Book designations. Sophie Blackall is an award-winning illustrator of over 50 books for children, including the New York Times bestselling Ivy and Bean series, the 2016 Caldecott Medal winner Finding Winnie, and the 2019 Caldecott Medal winner Hello Lighthouse, which she also wrote. She is also a four-time recipient of The New York Times Best Illustrated Picture Book Award.

Perfect for:
  • Readers who loved Junie B. Jones, Magic Tree House books, and Princess in Black
  • Gift-givers looking for entertaining chapter book sets for kids who enjoy stories full of humor and wit
  • Fans of classic children’s literature, from books by Beverly Cleary to the Harry Potter series

About the Author


Annie Barrows has written many books for adults, but Ivy and Bean is her first series for children. She lives in northern California with her husband and two daughters.

Sophie Blackall is an Australian illustrator whose books include Ruby's Wish and Meet Wild Boars. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Praise For…


“My 7-year old granddaughter loves these books about two mismatched friends and their adventures.”



“I think my daughter loves this series because it appeals to her curious and adventurous and imaginative spirit. While my daughter loves dolls and princesses, she is strong and curious and loves to get dirtythis book series appeals to her spirit.”



“This is an amazing book. My 6 year old loves reading it.”



“This is the ONLY chapter book series that my daughter has fallen for and will re-read on her own. Honestly, the characters are sooo great, and even as an adult, I was enjoying seeing the friendship develop between Ivy and Bean, and seeing what adventures their imaginations would get them into. I find the characters very authentic.”



"Annie Barrows accomplishes the almost impossible task of reflecting the world of second graders, creating the tension and drama of family and friendships in language that can be read easily by children who recently graduated from easy readers to early chapter books. " Lisa Von Drasek, Children's Librarian, Bank Street College of Education



BARNES NOBLE REVIEW
\\\"Annie Barrows accomplishes the almost impossible task of reflecting the world of second grader, creating the tension and drama of family and friendships in language that can be read easily by child who recently graduated from easy readers to early chapter books. \\\" Lisa Von Drasek, Children\\\'s Librarian, Bank Street College of Education



Reader, Parent Librarian Love for Ivy Bean Chapter Books


“These books are fabulous! They remind me of Ramona books when I was a kid. We read them to our 5 year old and she loves them. They illustrate normal kid thinking processes and attitudes.”



“I read ALL of the books in this series when I was in elementary school (I am 17 now) and I absolutely LOVED them. This series truly taught me the joy in reading and creativity, as well as real social dynamics you see in everyday life (even “cheeky” ones, if you may). I highly suggest this series to all parents interested in fueling their kids' love for reading, especially young girls, as I completely adored Ivy and Bean myself!”



“This book is a must read for all young readers. The story is light, quirky, and fun, all readers will love it. It has several laugh-out-loud moments and an upbeat style that readers will love. This book does have some misbehavior, but it also shows how the characters regret their bad decisions and feel sorry about them, which kids need to learn about. I highly recommend this book!”



“Our 7 year-old daughter has really expanded her vocabulary and reading skills with these chapter books. She loves to read the books to find out what kind of “trouble” Ivy and Bean get themselves into.”



Product Details
ISBN: 9780811849098
ISBN-10: 0811849090
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: April 19th, 2007
Pages: 120
Language: English
Series: Ivy & Bean