Jack's House (Board book)

Jack's House By Karen Magnuson Beil, Mike Wohnoutka (Illustrator) Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Sep 24 4:43pm

Description


Huge bulldozers, roaring cement mixers, and a super adorable pup make this the perfect board book for construction-obsessed toddlers.

     Kids who love big, noisy machines can watch step-by-step as cute pup Jack builds a home by driving a bulldozer, operating a cement mixer, and using a forklift. Perfect for fans of Paw Patrol, toddlers will enjoy watching Jack build walls, frame windows, and nail down a roof. 

Adorable illustrations by award-winner Mike Wohnoutka of a construction pup with a tool belt are sure to engage even the youngest dog-lover. Big, bold trucks fill the pages in Jack's House, a simplified take on the classic nursery rhyme, "This Is the House that Jack Built."

About the Author


Karen Magnuson Beil is a former reporter for Chicago's City News Bureau and has also worked as an editor and science writer. She has written several books for children; including Mooove Over!, illustrated by Paul Meisel, Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award winner. A New England native, she now lives in New York State with her family.

Mike Wohnoutka has illustrated many books for children, including Jack's House, written by Karen Magnuson Beil and honored as a Bank Street College of Education Best Children's Book; Hanukkah Bear, a National Jewish Book Award Winner; and See the Cat: Three Stories About a Dog, a 2021 Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Winner. Mike lives in Minnesota with his family. His website is www.mikewohnoutka.com.

Praise For…


"This book was built for those youngsters with a jones for trucks and other big wheels, and it delivers in spades."—Kirkus Reviews
 
"A wonderful twist on an age-old rhyme. . . . This beguiling book will be a hit both at storytimes and in circulating collections, for those who really want to know how Jack's house got built."—School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780823450121
ISBN-10: 0823450120
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication Date: September 14th, 2021
Pages: 28
Language: English