The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1) By Kit Rosewater, Sophie Escabasse Cover Image
$14.99
On Our Shelves Now
4 on hand, as of Apr 18 4:36pm

Staff Reviews


Can two 10 year old friends get a roller derby team together in only a few days? Especially when they dont know any other skaters. I really enjoyed this young middle grade book about friendship and overcoming challenges. Plus, there's plenty of roller derby realness! - Clare

— From Middle Grade: Sports

Description


“This a great pick about fierce young ladies coming together through sports. The book has loads of action and plenty of heart.” —Booklist, starred review
 
“Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson’s Roller Girl, and readers seeking stories about sports-loving girls supporting each other.” —School Library Journal, starred review
 
Kit Rosewater and Sophie Escabasse’s The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team is the first novel in a highly illustrated middle-grade series that celebrates new friendships, first crushes, and getting out of your comfort zone.

Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and Shelly (aka Bomb Shell) have dreamed of becoming roller derby superstars. When Austin’s city league introduces a brand-new junior league, the dynamic duo celebrates! But they’ll need to try out as a five-person team. Kenzie and Shelly have just one week to convince three other girls that roller derby is the coolest thing on wheels.
 
But Kenzie starts to have second thoughts when Shelly starts acting like everyone’s best friend. . . . Isn’t she supposed to be Kenzie’s best friend? And things get really awkward when Shelly recruits Kenzie’s neighbor (and secret crush!) for the team. With lots of humor and an authentic middle-grade voice, book one of this illustrated series follows Kenzie, Shelly, and the rest of the Derby Daredevils as they learn how to fall—and get back up again.
 
Also Available:
The Derby Daredevils: Shelly Struggles to Shine
The Derby Daredevils: Tomoko Takes the Lead
 

About the Author


Kit Rosewater has a master’s degree in children’s literature from Hollins University. The Derby Daredevils is her debut book. She lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Praise For…


**STARRED REVIEW**
"This a great pick about fierce young ladies coming together through sports. The book has loads of action and plenty of heart, running with themes of friendship, being a good communicator, dealing with jealousy, and even a little sprinkle of how it feels to have a crush on someone you think is just the coolest person ever. Memorable characters and frequent illustrations bring the story to life and will make anyone want to get their derby on."
— Booklist

**STARRED REVIEW**
"In her wonderful debut, Rosewater gives readers a look into the world of roller derby and what it entails, while depicting a relatable story of shifting young friendships... A great addition to juvenile sports fiction for school and public libraries. Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson’s Roller Girl, and readers seeking stories about sports-loving girls supporting each other."
— School Library Journal

"A lighthearted celebration of life, friendship, and rolling with the punches."
— Kirkus Reviews

"Relatable, empathic series debut introduces readers to the fast-paced sport of roller derby and hints at interesting backstories for Kenzie’s teammates."
— Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781419740794
ISBN-10: 1419740792
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication Date: March 24th, 2020
Pages: 176
Language: English
Series: Derby Daredevils