Graphic Novels: Staff Picks

Invisible: A Graphic Novel By Christina Diaz Gonzalez, Gabriela Epstein (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338194548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - August 2nd, 2022

With text in English and Spanish, this graphic novel follows five middle-schoolers of Hispanic and Latine backgrounds who must work together for a cause bigger than themselves and their differences. I love how the plot defies readerly and societal expectations and brings to life such complex and sincere characters!"

- Grace


My Aunt Is a Monster: (A Graphic Novel) By Reimena Yee Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984894182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - October 25th, 2022

This book is so cool. The illustration style is just on the edge of magical. And so it should be, as Safia's Aunty Whimsy really does look like a monster. Whimsy has been hidden away from the world for so long, but now she's back, unmasking agents of chaos and unravelling mysteries. Can she keep her identity a secret so she and Safia can keep adventuring?"

- Clare


The Postman From Space By Guillaume Perreault Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780823445844
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holiday House - April 7th, 2020

Stylish and funny graphic novel about a space postman who has a crazy day delivering mail to alien worlds. One for fans of Hilda or Catstronauts.

- Clare


Estranged By Ethan M. Aldridge, Ethan M. Aldridge (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062653864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - August 7th, 2018

Cool and creepy story about fairy abduction and what family means when the world seems so strange. The illustration in this book is very detailed and intricate, it perfectly matches the feelings the kids go through as they find out who they are.

- Clare


El Deafo: A Graphic Novel By Cece Bell Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781419712173
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Abrams Fanfare - September 2nd, 2014

A memoir about growing up deaf, where the author illustrates herself as a rabbit. Wonderful and engaging storytelling with plenty of funny moments. I particularly love how the rabbit is illustrated to look older as the book goes on.

- Clare


Sanity & Tallulah By Molly Brooks, Molly Brooks (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Molly Brooks, Molly Brooks (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368022804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Ink - October 16th, 2018

Two girls, in space with a secret genetically modified pet. What could go wrong? Sci-fi adventure with science and silliness.

- Clare


When Stars Are Scattered By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

The graphic memoir of Omar Mohamed who grew up in a refugee camp looking after his disabled younger brother. Yes it's a heartwrenching story, but it's also full of hope, humanity and beauty.

- Clare 


The Prince and the Dressmaker By Jen Wang Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626723634
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 13th, 2018

Do you know any fashionistas? This might be the book for them. It's about a Prince who likes to wear ballgowns and the dressmaker who creates these extraordinary outfits for the Prince's daring new persona. The plot has a positive outcome for everyone and the dresses are nothing short of fabulous.

- Clare


The Shadow Hero By Gene Luen Yang, Sonny Liew (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Gene Luen Yang, Sonny Liew (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781596436978
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - July 15th, 2014

A very cool lesser-known graphic novel by Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese. It's based on the first ever Asian American comic book hero. Great 50s-style illustration and a strong message about representation in comics today.

- Clare


MS. MARVEL: KAMALA KHAN By G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona (Illustrator), Jake Wyatt (Illustrator), Nico Leon (Cover design or artwork by) Cover Image
By G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona (Illustrator), Jake Wyatt (Illustrator), Nico Leon (Cover design or artwork by)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781302916404
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Outreach/New Reader - February 5th, 2019

This is the best comic Marvel have ever made. Great for teens or older tweens these stories are about Kamala Khan, an ordinary teenager from New Jersey with shapeshifting powers. The stories and friendships and even the way she looks are so real. I reread these in times of trouble.

- Clare 


Diana: Princess of the Amazons By Shannon Hale, Dean Hale, Victoria Ying (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, Dean Hale, Victoria Ying (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9781401291112
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DC Comics - January 7th, 2020

A tween Wonder Woman is challenged by the arrival of a stranger on the island. But it's not some silly boy, it's a girl her own age and the first friend Diana has ever had. A perfectly pitched superhero story for 2nd and 3rd graders about peer pressure and friendship.

- Clare


Timo the Adventurer By Jonathan Garnier, Yohan Sacré (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jonathan Garnier, Yohan Sacré (Illustrator)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780358360117
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Clarion Books - October 13th, 2020

Do you love Hilda? Of course you do! This new graphic novel for younger readers reminds me of Hilda because of the whimsical creatures and not-so-scary bad guys. I particularly love how we see pages from Timo's illustrated adventure journal to understand better what he feels as he explores new places.

- Clare


New Kid: A Newbery Award Winner By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062691194
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - February 5th, 2019

The first Graphic Novel to ever win a Newbery Award. Brilliant realistic storytelling about school and new friends. Sometimes funny and sometimes serious, always spot on. The second book Class Act is also great.

- Clare